Skip to content
Leicestershire Counts — Leicestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Harborough, in numbers

People and living standards: Harborough

Harborough local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Harborough local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 67,907 in 1991 to 106,577 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Harborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,401 people in 1996; 106,577 people in 2025. 47.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Harborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199167,907
199268,766
199369,308
199469,964
199571,016
199672,401
199772,903
199873,388
199973,941
200075,320
200176,818
200278,226
200379,118
200479,860
200580,486
200681,492
200782,593
200883,417
200984,132
201084,849
201185,699
201286,350
201387,346
201487,991
201589,402
201690,610
201791,718
201892,648
201993,661
202095,288
202198,254
2022100,625
2023102,885
2024104,619
2025106,577
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Harborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,793 people in 1996; 18,481 people in 2025. 24.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Harborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,868
199214,097
199314,198
199414,405
199514,624
199614,793
199714,847
199814,891
199914,806
200015,141
200115,486
200215,902
200316,149
200416,309
200516,378
200616,471
200716,466
200816,462
200916,437
201016,434
201116,326
201216,243
201316,286
201416,333
201516,530
201616,656
201716,619
201816,708
201916,825
202016,853
202117,222
202217,675
202318,041
202418,305
202518,481
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Harborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 46,702 people in 1996; 63,587 people in 2025. 36.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Harborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199144,085
199244,469
199344,768
199445,161
199545,782
199646,702
199746,973
199847,219
199947,634
200048,414
200149,315
200250,021
200350,344
200450,657
200550,949
200651,649
200752,480
200852,806
200952,942
201053,153
201153,611
201253,463
201353,705
201453,645
201554,281
201654,741
201755,399
201855,781
201956,320
202057,500
202159,340
202260,635
202361,855
202462,516
202563,587
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Harborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,906 people in 1996; 24,509 people in 2025. 124.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Harborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,954
199210,200
199310,342
199410,398
199510,610
199610,906
199711,083
199811,278
199911,501
200011,765
200112,017
200212,303
200312,625
200412,894
200513,159
200613,372
200713,647
200814,149
200914,753
201015,262
201115,762
201216,644
201317,355
201418,013
201518,591
201619,213
201719,700
201820,159
201920,516
202020,935
202121,692
202222,315
202322,989
202423,798
202524,509
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 97,623 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Harborough · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5,2985.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6990.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0032.1%
White88,85191%
Other ethnic group7720.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 85,382 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Harborough · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White81,31695.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9711.1%
Asian/Asian British2,5633%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3270.4%
Other ethnic group2050.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 76,559 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Harborough · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,92197.9%
Mixed4920.6%
Asian/Asian British7981%
Black/Black British1470.2%
Chinese/Other2010.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Harborough council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,711 per person in 1997; £29,293 per person in 2024. 86.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Harborough council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,711
199815,922
199916,287
200017,025
200117,027
200217,073
200317,781
200418,546
200519,225
200619,571
200720,670
200820,737
200920,225
201020,423
201120,486
201220,839
201321,432
201422,258
201523,510
201623,016
201723,886
201823,907
201924,664
202024,050
202124,647
202225,815
202327,642
202429,293
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Harborough council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 48.1% in 1997; 12.8% in 2024. 35.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Harborough council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199748.1
199847.1
199944
200043
200137.6
200234.9
200336.4
200436.7
200536.8
200633.6
200734.7
200831.7
200926.3
201026.5
201125.7
201223.4
201322.4
201423.1
201523.6
201619.5
201721.2
201817.1
201917
202014.6
202112.8
202212.4
202313.1
202412.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.6%

21 March 2021 · Harborough local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.3%

21 March 2021 · Harborough local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.6%

21 March 2021 · Harborough local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.7%

21 March 2021 · Harborough local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£347,000

July 2026 · Harborough local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£973

August 2026 · Harborough local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.