Skip to content
Leicestershire Counts — Leicestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Hinckley and Bosworth, in numbers

People and living standards: Hinckley and Bosworth

Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 96,689 in 1991 to 118,240 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hinckley and Bosworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 98,485 people in 1996; 118,240 people in 2025. 20.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hinckley and Bosworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199196,689
199297,750
199397,681
199497,969
199597,979
199698,485
199799,019
199898,700
199999,761
200099,749
2001100,202
2002100,482
2003101,210
2004101,953
2005102,431
2006102,996
2007103,450
2008104,179
2009104,473
2010104,734
2011105,328
2012105,955
2013106,415
2014107,468
2015108,609
2016109,920
2017111,431
2018112,245
2019112,688
2020113,051
2021113,653
2022114,285
2023115,267
2024116,612
2025118,240
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hinckley and Bosworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,520 people in 1996; 20,062 people in 2025. 2.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hinckley and Bosworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,710
199219,819
199319,734
199419,816
199519,609
199619,520
199719,355
199819,038
199919,361
200019,242
200119,076
200219,019
200319,018
200419,000
200518,850
200618,675
200718,581
200818,575
200918,584
201018,497
201118,571
201218,697
201318,751
201418,811
201518,932
201619,140
201719,394
201819,532
201919,579
202019,662
202119,626
202219,857
202319,841
202419,902
202520,062
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hinckley and Bosworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 63,723 people in 1996; 70,951 people in 2025. 11.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hinckley and Bosworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199162,798
199263,438
199363,298
199463,339
199563,385
199663,723
199764,201
199863,954
199964,720
200064,652
200165,030
200265,117
200365,571
200466,113
200566,580
200667,132
200767,400
200867,653
200967,401
201067,229
201167,255
201266,834
201366,500
201466,557
201566,852
201667,401
201767,961
201868,165
201968,096
202068,240
202168,515
202268,609
202369,160
202470,025
202570,951
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hinckley and Bosworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,242 people in 1996; 27,227 people in 2025. 78.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hinckley and Bosworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,181
199214,493
199314,649
199414,814
199514,985
199615,242
199715,463
199815,708
199915,680
200015,855
200116,096
200216,346
200316,621
200416,840
200517,001
200617,189
200717,469
200817,951
200918,488
201019,008
201119,502
201220,424
201321,164
201422,100
201522,825
201623,379
201724,076
201824,548
201925,013
202025,149
202125,512
202225,819
202326,266
202426,685
202527,227
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 113,641 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hinckley and Bosworth · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,1472.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6920.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,9901.8%
White107,18094.3%
Other ethnic group6320.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 105,078 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hinckley and Bosworth · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White101,36996.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0271%
Asian/Asian British2,2462.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2620.2%
Other ethnic group1740.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 100,141 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hinckley and Bosworth · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White98,06697.9%
Mixed5880.6%
Asian/Asian British1,0621.1%
Black/Black British1150.1%
Chinese/Other3100.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hinckley and Bosworth council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,191 per person in 1997; £24,005 per person in 2024. 135.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hinckley and Bosworth council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,191
199810,369
199910,797
200011,229
200111,739
200212,002
200312,598
200413,128
200513,550
200613,936
200714,733
200814,815
200915,267
201015,348
201115,591
201216,016
201316,466
201416,959
201517,677
201617,550
201718,391
201819,066
201919,415
202019,524
202120,009
202220,886
202322,471
202424,005
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hinckley and Bosworth council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.9% in 1997; -7.5% in 2024. 3.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hinckley and Bosworth council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.9
1998-4.2
1999-4.6
2000-5.7
2001-5.1
2002-5.1
2003-3.4
2004-3.3
2005-3.6
2006-4.8
2007-4
2008-5.9
2009-4.7
2010-5
2011-4.3
2012-5.2
2013-6
2014-6.2
2015-7.1
2016-8.9
2017-6.6
2018-6.6
2019-7.9
2020-7
2021-8.4
2022-9
2023-8.1
2024-7.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.5%

21 March 2021 · Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.9%

21 March 2021 · Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.3%

21 March 2021 · Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.7%

21 March 2021 · Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£260,000

July 2026 · Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£934

August 2026 · Hinckley and Bosworth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.