Skip to content
Leicestershire Counts — Leicestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Melton, in numbers

People and living standards: Melton

Melton local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Melton local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 45,318 in 1991 to 54,694 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Melton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 46,211 people in 1996; 54,694 people in 2025. 18.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Melton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,318
199245,874
199346,054
199446,336
199546,163
199646,211
199746,372
199845,882
199947,047
200047,515
200147,875
200248,080
200348,429
200448,618
200548,605
200648,724
200749,153
200849,287
200949,481
201050,077
201150,495
201250,814
201350,891
201450,990
201551,013
201651,146
201751,113
201851,331
201951,470
202051,583
202151,756
202252,406
202353,221
202453,922
202554,694
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Melton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,326 people in 1996; 9,163 people in 2025. 1.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Melton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,131
19929,282
19939,330
19949,445
19959,428
19969,326
19979,363
19989,238
19999,417
20009,451
20019,497
20029,481
20039,415
20049,390
20059,302
20069,232
20079,231
20089,124
20099,090
20109,131
20119,133
20129,205
20139,133
20149,009
20158,937
20168,946
20178,873
20188,930
20198,855
20208,735
20218,768
20228,854
20239,013
20249,093
20259,163
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Melton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,598 people in 1996; 32,190 people in 2025. 8.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Melton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,184
199229,555
199329,675
199429,763
199529,524
199629,598
199729,656
199829,264
199930,119
200030,451
200130,663
200230,812
200331,051
200431,133
200531,095
200631,257
200731,598
200831,622
200931,582
201031,848
201132,059
201231,860
201331,600
201431,534
201531,389
201631,233
201730,925
201830,861
201930,754
202030,763
202130,742
202230,941
202331,362
202431,722
202532,190
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Melton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 7,287 people in 1996; 13,341 people in 2025. 83.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Melton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19917,003
19927,037
19937,049
19947,128
19957,211
19967,287
19977,353
19987,380
19997,511
20007,613
20017,715
20027,787
20037,963
20048,095
20058,208
20068,235
20078,324
20088,541
20098,809
20109,098
20119,303
20129,749
201310,158
201410,447
201510,687
201610,967
201711,315
201811,540
201911,861
202012,085
202112,246
202212,611
202312,846
202413,107
202513,341
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 51,752 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Melton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5991.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1920.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6591.3%
White50,14296.9%
Other ethnic group1600.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 50,376 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Melton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White49,31997.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4140.8%
Asian/Asian British5181%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British950.2%
Other ethnic group300.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 47,866 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Melton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White47,27198.8%
Mixed2260.5%
Asian/Asian British2460.5%
Black/Black British390.1%
Chinese/Other840.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Melton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,055 per person in 1997; £26,529 per person in 2024. 140% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Melton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,055
199811,336
199911,602
200011,982
200112,327
200212,714
200313,281
200413,945
200514,412
200614,858
200715,649
200815,768
200916,013
201016,026
201116,287
201216,800
201317,271
201417,862
201518,846
201618,899
201719,838
201820,583
201921,081
202021,110
202121,824
202223,290
202325,078
202426,529
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Melton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 4.2% in 1997; 2.2% in 2024. 2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Melton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19974.2
19984.7
19992.6
20000.7
2001-0.4
20020.5
20031.9
20042.8
20052.5
20061.5
20072
20080.1
20090
2010-0.8
20110
2012-0.5
2013-1.4
2014-1.2
2015-0.9
2016-1.9
20170.7
20180.8
20190
20200.6
2021-0.1
20221.4
20232.6
20242.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.3%

21 March 2021 · Melton local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Melton local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.4%

21 March 2021 · Melton local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4%

21 March 2021 · Melton local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£283,000

July 2026 · Melton local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£806

August 2026 · Melton local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.