Skip to content
Leicestershire Counts — Leicestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Oadby and Wigston, in numbers

People and living standards: Oadby and Wigston

Oadby and Wigston local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Oadby and Wigston local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 52,863 in 1991 to 61,533 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Oadby and Wigston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,397 people in 1996; 61,533 people in 2025. 13.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Oadby and Wigston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,863
199253,566
199353,736
199453,570
199553,906
199654,397
199754,623
199854,016
199955,203
200055,624
200155,791
200255,779
200356,161
200456,454
200556,218
200656,519
200756,475
200856,220
200955,600
201055,186
201155,979
201256,044
201356,060
201456,783
201556,216
201656,044
201757,516
201857,713
201957,772
202057,869
202157,788
202258,479
202359,627
202461,293
202561,533
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Oadby and Wigston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,641 people in 1996; 11,673 people in 2025. 9.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Oadby and Wigston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,265
199210,422
199310,523
199410,400
199510,542
199610,641
199710,711
199810,665
199910,970
200011,038
200111,072
200210,636
200310,609
200410,416
200510,400
200610,354
200710,220
200810,035
20099,905
20109,817
20119,766
20129,784
20139,917
20149,836
20159,705
20169,866
201710,134
201810,389
201910,494
202010,544
202110,538
202210,842
202311,226
202411,567
202511,673
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Oadby and Wigston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,135 people in 1996; 37,060 people in 2025. 5.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Oadby and Wigston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199135,079
199235,363
199335,189
199434,944
199534,945
199635,135
199735,099
199834,382
199935,012
200035,205
200135,125
200235,370
200335,588
200435,951
200535,584
200635,909
200735,930
200835,740
200935,049
201034,535
201135,307
201234,997
201334,690
201435,267
201534,700
201634,147
201735,320
201835,107
201934,918
202034,941
202134,932
202235,282
202335,949
202437,094
202537,060
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Oadby and Wigston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 8,621 people in 1996; 12,800 people in 2025. 48.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Oadby and Wigston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19917,519
19927,781
19938,024
19948,226
19958,419
19968,621
19978,813
19988,969
19999,221
20009,381
20019,594
20029,773
20039,964
200410,087
200510,234
200610,256
200710,325
200810,445
200910,646
201010,834
201110,906
201211,263
201311,453
201411,680
201511,811
201612,031
201712,062
201812,217
201912,360
202012,384
202112,318
202212,355
202312,452
202412,632
202512,800
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 57,747 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oadby and Wigston · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh16,13127.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,2542.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,8733.2%
White36,59263.4%
Other ethnic group1,8973.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 56,170 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oadby and Wigston · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White41,01173%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1762.1%
Asian/Asian British12,52022.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6711.2%
Other ethnic group7921.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 55,795 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oadby and Wigston · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White46,85784%
Mixed6061.1%
Asian/Asian British7,43113.3%
Black/Black British5020.9%
Chinese/Other3990.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Oadby and Wigston council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,899 per person in 1997; £22,495 per person in 2024. 152.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Oadby and Wigston council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,899
19989,189
19999,452
20009,689
200110,074
200210,364
200310,950
200411,410
200511,830
200612,119
200712,875
200813,084
200913,660
201013,946
201114,076
201214,515
201314,918
201415,263
201516,208
201616,397
201716,894
201817,359
201918,224
202018,527
202119,182
202220,005
202321,477
202422,495
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Oadby and Wigston council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -16.1% in 1997; -13.4% in 2024. 2.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Oadby and Wigston council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-16.1
1998-15.1
1999-16.4
2000-18.6
2001-18.6
2002-18.1
2003-16
2004-15.9
2005-15.9
2006-17.2
2007-16.1
2008-16.9
2009-14.7
2010-13.6
2011-13.6
2012-14.1
2013-14.8
2014-15.6
2015-14.8
2016-14.8
2017-14.2
2018-14.9
2019-13.5
2020-11.7
2021-12.2
2022-12.9
2023-12.2
2024-13.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55%

21 March 2021 · Oadby and Wigston local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Oadby and Wigston local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.6%

21 March 2021 · Oadby and Wigston local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.8%

21 March 2021 · Oadby and Wigston local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£251,000

July 2026 · Oadby and Wigston local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,024

August 2026 · Oadby and Wigston local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.