Skip to content
Leicestershire Counts — Leicestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Blaby, in numbers

People and living standards: Blaby

Blaby local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Blaby local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 82,973 in 1991 to 108,423 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Blaby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 85,945 people in 1996; 108,423 people in 2025. 26.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Blaby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199182,973
199283,990
199384,828
199485,291
199585,332
199685,945
199786,623
199887,259
199988,378
200089,429
200190,361
200291,225
200391,592
200491,664
200591,721
200692,266
200792,741
200893,341
200993,511
201093,935
201194,132
201294,656
201395,045
201495,964
201596,604
201698,014
201799,366
2018100,767
2019101,777
2020102,293
2021103,271
2022104,178
2023105,336
2024107,845
2025108,423
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Blaby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,590 people in 1996; 19,551 people in 2025. 11.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Blaby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,725
199217,011
199317,268
199417,495
199517,482
199617,590
199717,647
199817,785
199918,002
200018,067
200118,091
200218,241
200318,153
200418,069
200517,989
200617,936
200717,797
200817,714
200917,669
201017,653
201117,599
201217,577
201317,541
201417,708
201517,740
201618,015
201718,519
201818,856
201919,124
202019,146
202119,266
202219,530
202319,687
202419,597
202519,551
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Blaby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,157 people in 1996; 66,318 people in 2025. 18.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Blaby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199154,978
199255,574
199355,921
199456,034
199555,904
199656,157
199756,590
199856,829
199957,354
200058,048
200158,555
200258,882
200359,045
200458,892
200558,856
200659,164
200759,529
200859,830
200959,564
201059,585
201159,519
201259,216
201359,085
201459,365
201559,454
201660,264
201760,810
201861,438
201961,902
202062,267
202162,772
202263,093
202363,800
202465,952
202566,318
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Blaby council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,198 people in 1996; 22,554 people in 2025. 84.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Blaby council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,270
199211,405
199311,639
199411,762
199511,946
199612,198
199712,386
199812,645
199913,022
200013,314
200113,715
200214,102
200314,394
200414,703
200514,876
200615,166
200715,415
200815,797
200916,278
201016,697
201117,014
201217,863
201318,419
201418,891
201519,410
201619,735
201720,037
201820,473
201920,751
202020,880
202121,233
202221,555
202321,849
202422,296
202522,554
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 102,924 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blaby · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,4978.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,5941.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,7652.7%
White88,75386.2%
Other ethnic group1,3151.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,915 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blaby · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,45191%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5051.6%
Asian/Asian British5,7186.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9001%
Other ethnic group3410.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 90,252 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blaby · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,11394.3%
Mixed8310.9%
Asian/Asian British3,4113.8%
Black/Black British4520.5%
Chinese/Other4450.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Blaby council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,236 per person in 1997; £22,274 per person in 2024. 141.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Blaby council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,236
19989,264
19999,773
20009,921
200110,383
200210,625
200311,247
200411,705
200512,019
200612,365
200712,999
200813,011
200913,721
201013,756
201114,102
201214,590
201314,939
201415,359
201515,892
201616,044
201716,884
201817,429
201918,258
202018,563
202118,962
202219,685
202321,136
202422,274
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Blaby council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.9% in 1997; -14.2% in 2024. 1.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Blaby council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.9
1998-14.4
1999-13.6
2000-16.7
2001-16.1
2002-16
2003-13.7
2004-13.8
2005-14.5
2006-15.6
2007-15.3
2008-17.4
2009-14.3
2010-14.8
2011-13.5
2012-13.6
2013-14.7
2014-15.1
2015-16.5
2016-16.7
2017-14.3
2018-14.6
2019-13.4
2020-11.6
2021-13.2
2022-14.3
2023-13.6
2024-14.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.5%

21 March 2021 · Blaby local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.5%

21 March 2021 · Blaby local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.3%

21 March 2021 · Blaby local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Blaby local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£289,000

July 2026 · Blaby local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£998

August 2026 · Blaby local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.