Skip to content
Leicestershire Counts — Leicestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Charnwood, in numbers

People and living standards: Charnwood

Charnwood local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Charnwood local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 146,587 in 1991 to 189,718 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Charnwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 152,527 people in 1996; 189,718 people in 2025. 24.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Charnwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991146,587
1992148,509
1993150,463
1994150,648
1995151,540
1996152,527
1997152,230
1998151,229
1999153,008
2000153,060
2001153,554
2002153,431
2003153,664
2004154,740
2005155,768
2006157,153
2007158,667
2008160,509
2009162,330
2010164,346
2011165,876
2012167,474
2013168,766
2014170,946
2015172,909
2016174,625
2017176,997
2018179,191
2019180,988
2020182,108
2021182,906
2022185,145
2023187,150
2024188,310
2025189,718
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Charnwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 30,177 people in 1996; 31,055 people in 2025. 2.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Charnwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,336
199229,704
199330,126
199430,162
199530,299
199630,177
199729,829
199829,376
199929,723
200029,450
200129,198
200228,507
200327,943
200427,617
200527,327
200627,496
200727,754
200827,896
200927,933
201028,035
201128,178
201228,419
201328,746
201428,827
201529,137
201629,477
201729,897
201830,173
201930,461
202030,755
202130,749
202230,966
202331,186
202431,216
202531,055
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Charnwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 100,126 people in 1996; 121,256 people in 2025. 21.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Charnwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199196,464
199297,659
199398,807
199498,801
199599,364
1996100,126
199799,929
199899,278
1999100,631
2000100,847
2001101,394
2002101,683
2003102,316
2004103,383
2005104,385
2006105,337
2007106,223
2008107,256
2009108,267
2010109,363
2011110,146
2012110,334
2013110,419
2014111,641
2015112,580
2016113,265
2017114,615
2018115,870
2019116,650
2020117,067
2021117,247
2022118,718
2023119,944
2024120,453
2025121,256
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Charnwood council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,224 people in 1996; 37,407 people in 2025. 68.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Charnwood council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,787
199221,146
199321,530
199421,685
199521,877
199622,224
199722,472
199822,575
199922,654
200022,763
200122,962
200223,241
200323,405
200423,740
200524,056
200624,320
200724,690
200825,357
200926,130
201026,948
201127,552
201228,721
201329,601
201430,478
201531,192
201631,883
201732,485
201833,148
201933,877
202034,286
202134,910
202235,461
202336,020
202436,641
202537,407
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 183,970 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Charnwood · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh22,85312.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,8401.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,6602.5%
White151,45982.3%
Other ethnic group2,1581.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 166,100 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Charnwood · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White145,11487.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,5771.6%
Asian/Asian British16,1389.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,3270.8%
Other ethnic group9440.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 153,462 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Charnwood · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White140,67491.7%
Mixed1,3740.9%
Asian/Asian British9,2076%
Black/Black British6150.4%
Chinese/Other1,5921%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Charnwood council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,825 per person in 1997; £23,535 per person in 2024. 139.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Charnwood council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,825
199810,021
199910,384
200010,789
200111,258
200211,649
200312,322
200412,889
200513,225
200613,535
200714,253
200814,279
200914,513
201014,516
201114,723
201215,141
201315,475
201415,845
201516,517
201616,478
201717,271
201817,530
201918,657
202018,418
202119,401
202220,465
202322,021
202423,535
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Charnwood council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.4% in 1997; -9.4% in 2024. 2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Charnwood council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.4
1998-7.4
1999-8.2
2000-9.4
2001-9
2002-7.9
2003-5.5
2004-5
2005-5.9
2006-7.6
2007-7.1
2008-9.3
2009-9.4
2010-10.1
2011-9.6
2012-10.4
2013-11.6
2014-12.4
2015-13.2
2016-14.4
2017-12.3
2018-14.1
2019-11.5
2020-12.3
2021-11.2
2022-10.9
2023-9.9
2024-9.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.4%

21 March 2021 · Charnwood local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.7%

21 March 2021 · Charnwood local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.8%

21 March 2021 · Charnwood local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Charnwood local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£274,000

July 2026 · Charnwood local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£960

August 2026 · Charnwood local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.